• Welcome to Theos PowerBasic Museum 2017.

Strange Problem With Lynx Project Explorer

Started by Frederick J. Harris, April 14, 2009, 05:27:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Frederick J. Harris

Lynx Project Explorer is my most loved programming accessory that I have been using for many years on countless different computers.  Right now I am having a bad problem with it that has me completely baffled.  I just installed it on a new (used laptop I bought) laptop on which I just put a fresh install of Windows 2000 Pro.  I'm logged on as administrator.  When I follow all the necessary procedures (of which I'm intimately familiar) to set it up, it simply refuses to compile any file whatsoever, using either Jose's includes, or the simpler PowerBASIC includes.  Has anyone ever run into this problem?

When I click the compile button on a simple Hello, World! Gui Api style program it just gives me a permanent hourglass, and when I eventually click the cancel button I get this message...

"Compiler monitor cancelled by user.  Compilation may not be complete."

And when I click the goto error button I get an error MsgBox as follows...

"Error 76 Loading The File C:\Code\PwrBasic\PBWin80\Projects\Forms\Form1\

And thats it.  There is no filename after the path above, which I believe is implicated in the problem.  When I use Lynx I usually use Jose's SED editor with it.  I usually install Lynx in C:\Program Files\Lynx and I usually put Jose's SED editor in C:\Program Files\SED.  I install the PowerBASIC compilers in C:\Program Files too.

Actually, I have seen this problem before, and I believe it may have been related to permissions somehow, as when I saw it I was attempting to use and compile a file while logged onto a Win 2000 computer with just a limited user account instead of the administrator account I'm usually logged in as when I program.  As an aside, I seldom am connected to a network on the computer I use for coding, and usually log in as administrator.